top of page

Garden Route

The variety of destinations and stopovers on the Garden Route is limitless and invites every visitor to an unforgettable experience. Here, nature shows itself in the most diverse ways. From endless beaches, lagoons, subtropical vegetation, mountains and semi-desert in the hinterland you can find everything here. As diverse as the nature is, so are the activities that await you here. Decide whether you want to go on a Big 5 safari, relax by swimming on the long sandy beaches, go hiking or rather seek adventure in water sports or bungee jumping. There's no lack of choice and we'll help you make the right decision.

De Kelders
De Kelders Hermanus
Tsitsikamma Nationalpark
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Oudtshoorn
Hermanus

Hermanus is a coastal town about a 1.5-hour drive from Cape Town and is ideal as a first stop before the Garden Route or as a day or weekend getaway. You will find numerous restaurants, bars, small stores and lively and colorful markets. One of the main attractions is whale watching. Every year, starting in July, Southern Right and Humpback whales come from Antarctica to mate and give birth in the warmer waters. So the best chances to see whales are from June to November, either by walking from the Cliff Path or on a whale watching boat tour.

 

What else can you do in the area? 

  • Explore the town

  • Art galleries

  • Kayaking in Walker Bay 

  • Klipgat Caves at De Kelders (about a 30-minute drive from Hermanus) 

Wilderness

Wilderness is an idyllic coastal village and is an ideal stopover halfway between Cape Town and Gqeberha (previously known as Port Elisabeth). Here you can find your inner peace and relax in nature and for this reason it is one of our favorite places. It is surrounded by the hills of Wilderness Heights on the northern side and the sea on the southern side. It is an absolute paradise for outdoor lovers. You can explore the lagoon by canoe, dive into the forest on the Kingfisher Trail, or just take a walk on the long sandy beach.

What else can you do in the area? 

  • Wilderness Waterfall

  • Map of Africa lookout

  • Paragliding

  • Quad Bike Tours 

Tsitsikamma Park 

Tsitsikamma Park is part of the Garden Route National Park and is a short drive away from Plettenberg Bay. The area was already called "land of many waters" by the natives, because it is not only surrounded by a lot of water, but heavy rainfalls are common here. In Tsitsikamma Park you will find two towns, Stormsriver in the east and Nature's Valley with its extensive beach on the other side. The area is also home to one of the last indigenous forests in South Africa and you can enjoy beautiful hikes from a few hours up to several days. 

What can you do in the area? 

  • Kayaking through deep gorges 

  • Ziplining 

  • Dolphin and whale watching (July - November)

  • Canopy tours 

  • Crossing the suspension bridges of Stormsriver Mouth

  • Bungee Jumping at Bloukrans Bridge

Addo Elephant Park 

Addo Elephant Park is the perfect place along the Garden Route to experience the Big 5 up close. You can either explore the park on your own with a rental car or book guided tours. As the name suggests, you will find a large number of elephants, but also other animals such as the Big 5, zebras, warthogs, hyenas, ostriches, monkeys and various antelope species can be seen here. 

What else can you do in the area? 

  • 4x4 track between Kabouga and Darlington

  • Alexandria hiking trail 

Oudtshoorn 

In the middle of the Klein Karoo desert plain you will find the town of Oudtshoorn, the capital of ostrich farming. It is a suitable stopover between the Cape region and the Garden Route and is a popular destination due to its numerous attractions. You have the opportunity to visit one of the ostrich farms, explore stalactite rock formations just outside of town in the Cango Caves or watch the meerkats at sunrise. 

What can you do in the area? 

  • Visit Cango Caves

  • Visit ostrich farms

  • Watch meerkats

Book your perfect round trip or weekend getaway with Connect Away

Bloukrans Bridge
Tsitsikamma
bottom of page

top of page

Garden Route

Die Vielfalt an Reisezielen und Zwischenstopps auf der Garden Route ist grenzenlos und lädt jeden Besucher auf ein unvergessliches Erlebnis ein. Hier zeigt sich die Natur auf die unterschiedlichste Art und Weise. Von endlosen Stränden, Lagunen, subtropischer Vegetation, Bergen und Halbwüste im Hinterland findest du hier alles. So divers wie die Natur ist, sind auch die Aktivitäten, die dich hier erwarten. Entscheide dich, ob du eine Big 5 Safari machen willst, beim Baden and den langen Sandstränden entspannst, wandern oder eher das Abendteuer beim Wassersport oder Bungee-Jumping suchst. An Auswahl fehlt es dir hier nicht und wir helfen dir, die richtige Entscheidung zu treffen. 

De Kelders
De Kelders Hermanus
Tsitsikamma Nationalpark
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Oudtshoorn

Hermanus 

Hermanus ist ein Küstenörtchen, liegt rund eine 1.5-stündige Autofahrt von Kapstadt entfernt und ist ideal als erster Stopp vor der Garden Route oder eignet sich auch als Tages- oder Wochenendausflug. Hier findest du zahlreiche Restaurants, Bars, kleine Geschäft und lebendige und farbenfrohe Märkte. Eine der Hauptattraktionen ist die Walbeobachtung. Jedes Jahr, ab Juli, kommen die Südlichen Glatt- und Buckelwale aus der Antarktis, um sich in dem wärmeren Gewässer zu paaren und zu gebären. Die besten Chancen, Wale zu sehen, hast du also ab Juni bis November, entweder zu Fuss vom Cliff Path aus oder bei einer Whale Watching Boot Tour. 

Was kannst du in der Umgebung sonst noch machen? 

  • Das Städtchen erkunden
  • Kunstgalerien
  • Kayaking im Walker Bay 
  • Klipgat Höhlen bei De Kelders (ca. 30-Minuten Autofahrt von Hermanus entfernt) 

Wilderness

Wilderness ist ein idyllisches Küstendörfchen und ist ein idealer Zwischenstopp in der Hälfte der Strecke zwischen Kapstadt und Gqeberha (vorher bekannt als Port Elisabeth). Hier findest du deine innere Ruhe und kannst dich in der Natur entspannen und aus diesem Grund ist es eines unsere Lieblingsorte. Er wird auf der Nordseite von den Hügeln der Wilderness Heights und auf der Südseite vom Meer eingerahmt. Es ist ein absolutes Paradis für Outdoor-Liebhaber. Du kannst die Lagune mit dem Kanu erkunden, auf dem Kingfisher Trail in den Wald eintauchen oder einfach auf dem langen Sandstrand spazieren gehen. 

Was kannst du in der Umgebung sonst noch machen? 

  • Wilderness Wasserfall
  • Map of Africa Aussichtspunkt
  • Gleitschirmfliegen
  • Quad Touren 

Tsitsikamma Park 

Der Tsitsikamma Park gehört​ zum Garden Route Nationalpark und ist eine kurze Autofahrt von Plettenberg Bay entfernt. Die Gegend wurde schon von den Ureinwohnern "Land des vielen Wassers" genannt, denn es ist nicht nur von viel Wasser umgeben, sondern heftige Regenfälle sind hier öfters möglich. In dem Tsitsikamma Park findest du zwei Ortschaften, Stormsriver im Osten und Nature's Valley mit seinem weitläufigen Strand. Die Gegend beheimatet ebenfalls einer der letzten Urwälder Südafrikas und du kannst schöne Wanderungen von ein paar Stunden bis hin zu mehrtägigen Wanderungen geniessen. 

Was kannst du in der Umgebung machen? 

  • Mit dem Kayak durch tiefe Schluchten 
  • Ziplining 
  • Delfine und Wale beobachten (Juli - November)
  • Canopy Touren 
  • Über die Hängebrücken des Stormsriver Mouth
  • Bungee Jumping Bloukrans Brücke

Addo Elephant Park

Addo Elephant Park ist der perfekte Ort entlang der Garden Route, in​ dem du die Möglichkeit hast, die Big 5 hautnah zu erleben. Du kannst den Park entweder auf eigene Faust mit dem Mietwagen entdecken oder auch geführte Touren buchen. Wie es der Name schon verrät, findest du hier eine grosse Anzahl an Elefanten, aber auch andere Tiere wie die Big 5, Zebras, Warzenschweine, Hyänen, Sträusse, Affen und verschiedenen Antilopenarten kannst du hier zu Gesicht bekommen. 

Was kannst du in der Umgebung sonst noch machen? 

  • 4x4-Strecke zwischen Kabouga und Darlington
  • Alexandria Wanderweg 

Oudtshoorn

In der Mitte der Wüstenebene Klein Karoo findest du den Ort Ou​dtshoorn, die Hauptstadt der Straussenzucht. Er bietet sich als geeigneter Zwischenstopp zwischen der Kap Region und der Garden Route und ist aufgrund seiner zahlreichen Attraktionen ein beliebtes Reiseziel. Du hast hier die Möglichkeit eine der Straussenfarmen zu besuchen, Tropfsteinformationen etwas ausserhalb in den Cango Caves zu erkundigen oder beim Sonnenaufgang den Erdmännchen zuzuschauen. 

Was kannst du in der Umgebung machen? 

  • Cango Caves besichtigen
  • Straussenfarmen besuchen
  • Erdmännchen beobachten

Buche jetzt deine perfekte Rundreise oder Wochenendausflug mit Connect Away

Bloukrans Bridge
Tsitsikamma
bottom of page